Government 2.0: Tweeting the Talk, Walking the Walk

Out of the many uses for Twitter, the one I find most valuable is creating communities of interest. My favorite such community on Twitter is Government 2.0 folks, from private industry to Congress members to gov groupies. You can find lists of government folks who use Twitter, but the folks I’m listing here are the cream of the crop – they add value. Fun, too. If you’ve got some I’ve missed, please add in the comments.

@Jack_Holt @sradick @policymonk @ZachTumin @marlinex @lewisshepherd @johnculberson @dslunceford @planetrussell @dfletcher @corbett3000 @CaraKeithley @cheeky_geeky @johnhale @dbevarly @helenmosher @moehlert @cdorobek @bashley @levyj413 @you2gov @david_tallan @meghan1018 @caseycoleman @pbroviak @immunity @citymark @bgreeves @krazykriz @govloop


20 responses to “Government 2.0: Tweeting the Talk, Walking the Walk”

  1. @ariherzog Well, you are at the top of my blogroll. And, you’d be on my social media short list. But is Gov 2.0 really your top niche?

  2. Funny, when I read “Government 2.0”, I thought you meant an entirely new form of government, based on Web 2.0. So I looked around for one, and it seems like a lot of people have that idea!

    The big one, metagovernment, even talks about communities of interest, each acting as a governmental body. http://www.metagovernment.org/wiki/Main_Page

  3. I would add @mixtmedia. Not sure what the description is for a gov-groupie…but I think I would like to fit myself in that category as part of my full-time gig is working with social marketing (behavior change) inclined gov’t agencies while also helping them navigate the social media space.

    I’ve also seen at @Geoffliving add some good insights to the gov’t 2.0 movement as well.

  4. I think this is a great list and we have a real conversation going here, not just an echo chamber. I am in the planning stages of an Enterprise 2.0 for Government Conference this June (me hopes) and hope to pull from this list some great speakers.

  5. For your govt Tweeting list I’m @AFPADude I write policy and guidance for AF PA, currently working to integrate social media in the deployed environment.

  6. I am honored to be on your list and looking forward to implementing even more uses for social media this year! Also hoping to meet and learn from a few of these folks at the GovCamp later this month in DC.

Leave a comment